Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Today as a school subject, both History and Science and Technology, have their fair share of followers, with some regarding the former as the most important subject while others deem the latter to be of much more importance. I am in the latter group and believe that Science and technology subjects are far more important than history.

Studying history is important because it helps us to avoid the mistakes we made in the past and helps us make much better decisions in the future. For example, a study of how India was colonized by the British in the form of East India Company eventually leading to large scale suppression of the Indian population for two hundred years helps us avoid making the same mistakes in the future. On the same note, a study of the Holocaust reminds us of atrocities humans are capable of which can be avoided to create a much better place for people to live in. A careful study of the past and learning from it is of utmost importance if we want to make progress in the future.

On the other hand, I feel true progress can only come with a careful and sustained focus on Science and Technology because those are the subjects that help in making true progress and making our lives much better every single day. For instance, vaccinations have brought down the infant mortality rate down from 50 percent to less than 10 percent and even zero in some developed countries. Along the same lines, breakthroughs in medical procedures have made fatal diseases manageable and treatable. Similarly, modern transport inventions like cars and airplanes have made travel across the world possible in a matter of hours instead of months and years it previously used to take. Mobiles phones nowadays have the computing power of full-fledged computers but fit into our palms.

In conclusion, I feel that though history should definitely be taught in schools and is irreplaceable, it is the Science and Technology subjects which bring much more to the table. It has made lives much more comfortable and aims to take it to a much better place in the future!