In spite of the advances made in agriculture many people around the world still go hungry Why is this the case What can be done about this problem

World food production has increased steadily with enough food to feed everyone but that hasn't resulted in eradicating hunger in many parts of the world. I believe bad storage and distribution practices, as well as the wide disparity in affordability, are the primary causes for people still going hungry. Solving this issue would require targeted and sustained efforts to properly store and distribute different kinds of produce along with countries cooperating with each other to try and distribute food to poorer countries.

Food storage and distribution have not kept pace with the food production which results in large amounts of food grains and vegetables getting spoilt by natural forces like rain, heat etc as well as by rodents like rats, termites. A recent study done by a UK based group has found that almost forty to fifty percent of food grains are rot away as they are kept in the open or in inadequately made shelters. To make matters worse, whatever food is left edible is not properly distributed to people in need in poorer parts of the world. Another important reason is that many developing countries can not afford most of the food that is produced.

We can solve a big part of this problem simply by focusing less on increasing production and more on trying to preserve what we already produce which, by the way, is more than enough to feed everyone in the world. Scientists should find new and improved ways to store food by making better food storage facilities with good air conditioning, humidity control and pest control. Moreover, international organizations like the UN should strive to allocate funds to distribute extra food from developed nations to the poorer developing nations.

So, in conclusion, we see that by simply shifting our focus away from more production and towards better storage and distribution and with better cooperation between countries, we can alleviate world hunger to a large extent.