Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.To what extent do you agree or disagree to this statement?

There is an increasing belief that the number of options to choose from has increased multifold in every aspect of daily life. I fully agree with this statement that in every small or big decision that we need to make on a daily basis, we are flooded with an overwhelmingly large number of options to choose from!

To start with, the most glaring example of an area that is flooded with innumerable choices is the apparel and clothing business. As soon as we start our day, we have to choose between so many options about what to wear for the day. I personally have to decide between shirts, trousers, jeans, shoes, jewelry, accessories, eyewear etc. I believe the main reasons for this is the combination of an increase in the advertisements, combined with the simultaneous increase in spending power, thus allowing people to know about and own more and more items for their daily use.

Another area which gives us innumerable choices is the food business. In older days the range of cuisines in any particular city would be limited with only the native dishes in any area but lately, there has been an explosion of sorts in the varieties of cuisines and restaurants that offer those cuisines in a city. A prime example of this would be visible in the online apps like Zomato which lists at least dozens of dishes and cuisines that one can order. Likewise, any reasonably populated city would have dozens of restaurants within a five-mile radius, each with a different cuisine from a different part of the world. The main reason for this is the steady influx of people from one country to another, thus any major city has people from almost all parts of the world.

In conclusion, we see that almost every major aspect of our life like eating, drinking, clothing etc has been flooded with choices. There are multiple more areas like what to watch, how to travel, mode of communication, mode of entertainment where we see the same increase in options. All of these can be attributed to increased globalization, the influx of people between countries and increase in their spending power. A mix of all of these factors creates an economy that provides a huge number of choices to people.