Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Staying in a country that speaks a different language than one knows can potentially cause multiple social and practical issues. I believe that even though this language barrier can lead to grave social challenges on a daily basis, the practical aspects of it can still be overcome because of the advancements in modern technology.

To start with, the main reason for a foreign language causing social problems is that the difference in languages goes hand in hand with differences in cultures. Countries speaking different languages invariably have very different and contrasting acceptable cultural norms and have their own unique do's and don'ts which should be adhered to. Additionally, the language nuances of a native speaker would not be understood by someone who either cannot speak the language at all or if someone has a very basic understanding of the native language. For example, there are many words in the English language, example "rubber", which have completely different meanings in the US or UK when compared to other countries where English is not a native language. Similarly, some hand gestures like a sign for asking for a lift in a vehicle is benign in most countries but is considered very offensive in most Middle Eastern countries. So we see that no matter how much proficient one is in the foreign language, one can not escape making a small faux pas at best and grave social mistakes at worst, on a daily basis.

On the other hand, as far as the practical issues are concerned that one might face on a daily basis, due to modern technology aids, it is quite possible to an extent to mitigate or overcome those issues if one is resourceful. For example, most smartphones now have multiple apps which can translate between languages and thus make it easy to communicate simple requests to a native speaker. Google maps can be used to find directions in one's own language without the need to communicate with someone else. Restaurants reviews can be accessed on apps like Yelp, Foursquare etc.

In conclusion, I partially agree with the statement. While the chances of making serious social mistakes are more and quite unavoidable for a nonnative speaker, the practical problems that one might face on a daily basis can be easily overcome with the use of technology and other technological aids.