Some people say history is one the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many believe History is one of the school courses that should be considered very essential while others argue that in these days and age other branches such as Science and technology deserve more attention. In my view every branch of science is important and essential, therefore, we should not choose one and leave the others.

Many people consider History as the most needed subject and it is mostly due to the fact that humankind tends to repeat its behaviour over the time, in other words, we people repeat what our previous generations did and almost get the same results therefore, if we study history we could learn a lot from what our ancestors did and what they achieve by that and what were its consequences. If we figure out what they did wrong and what made them successful, then it is possible to avoid their mistakes and copy their success accordingly.

As opposed to the view of people who think History is the number one subject to study in schools there is another view who prefer science and technology. If we only focus on the History then there will be no future and innovation because it is the innovations resulted from science that enabled humans to prosper. In other words the huge development of countries and nations, mainly resulted from technology and to continue it we should study this branch more and more.

In conclusion, even though there are two opposing beliefs about the importance of history in comparison with science and technology, I think both of them are essential and should be considered equally important.