Some people say that it is possible for a county to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree.

Discuss both view and give your opinion.

he strength of any nation does not come without costs, one of which is upon the surroundings whose resources fuel each and every sector of the economy. And yet many believe a strong economy and a clean environment can co-exist. I do not entirely deny this belief; however, I find myself more convinced of the fact that we cannot have them both.

Scientists for years have developed ways to replace traditional sources of exploitation in many fields, like electricity and fuel. Alternatives of using renewable energy from sunlight, wind and geothermal heat have been applied in many places, which keeps the environment away from harm. Besides, many environmental activists say that it is certainly within our reach to minimize the damage caused by industrial activities and protect Mother Earth. Some even succeeded in broaching the subject with the authorities and convincing them to take actions in such regard.

On the other hand, I suppose that a country cannot obtain an advanced economy without damaging the environment in some cases. It is a fact that success in several fields linking to heavy industries strongly contributes to economic growth. Some mechanical industries have to exploit natural resources in order to meet the energy demand. Coal, for example, is being mined in huge quantities for production and fabrication in thermal power plants. Therefore, these mineral resources would face the risk of being depleted. Moreover, the manufacturing process also results in severe pollutions. In details, these industry factories would release the gas emission and other toxic wastes which are detrimental to our environment.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that no matter how hard we try to preserve the environment while our exploitation of natural resources for the sake of the economy is ongoing, we can never have them both at the same time.