in some cities people are choosing cars instead of bicycles, while in other cities riding bikes are replacing cars. Why is this the case? Which development do you think is better?

While bicycles are rarely used in some cities, it is surprising that bikes are becoming more popular in other cities. My essay will discuss certain reasons for this phenomenon and then I will give my own opinions about these developments.

It is understandable that the popularity of bicycles is not the same in every city. This phenomenon can be explained by two main underlying reasons. Firstly, most people in some urban areas choose using cars instead of bikes because it takes a considerable amount of time to travel by bikes. It fails to benefit the dwellers of major cities when their pace of working life is so rush that would eclipse the values of using bicycles impacting on both health and the environment. Secondly, the reverse trend happens more in some rural areas where the environment is clearer and greener due to the fact that people obviously prefer to join the pure air where does not have traffic jams rather than the polluted one in a crowded city.

In my opinion, I believe that the increase in the popularity of bicycles is a good development because of its positive impact on society. Firstly, it contributes much to reducing not only carbon dioxide releasing from cars and motorbikes but also traffic congestion. Secondly, it proves that people’s awareness has been changing in a better way as a signal that they start realizing how their use of cars impacts their surroundings and concerns about the environment.

In conclusion, there are two opposite trends in the use of bicycles in some cities and I am convinced that the increase in the use of bikes is a better development in our society.