Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the purpose of advertisement is to increase the sales of merchandises that are inessential for buyers. I somewhat disagree with this viewpoint, even though the promotion channel can be harnessed to stamp out manufacturers' inventory in order to garner some financial benefits for sellers.

Apart from disseminating information of unsought products, fostering brand image and popularizing newly launched offerings are vital roles of advertisements. It is not uncommon that companies utilize the marketing channel to introduce their philosophies and burnish their public images. This can be materialized by undertaking social activities and sponsoring for local major events that manifest values of economic organizations, rendering enteprises closer to the masses. Another virtue of the marketing instrument is that it spurs awareness of spenders with trendy items. Before the advent of certain products, distinct advantages of them including organic materials or eco-friendly characteristics are often broadcast to occupy the minds of potential buyers. Not only does the apprach boost the chance that customers purchase the particular products, but it enhances brand identities associated with them.

Admittedly, products with unenviable sales sometimes need a dose of promotion, allowing companies to reap part of manufaturing expenditure. If the companies fail to deliver successful advertising campaigns, losses can be even exacerbated. Owing to the risk, utilization of this method is thus may not be favored among the business world.

In sum, there are other uses of advetisements in lieu of mainly haversting revenue from products with poor sales, albeit circulating about the products can be exploited in few situations. I mostly object to the notion that ads are mostly deployed to generate income from less interested products.