Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Many people assert that preventing the decrease in the population of some plant and animal species is vital to save the environment. However, I believe that other environmental issues also need attention.

Protecting and revising the ecosystem is crucial to improve human living conditions. For instance, oceanic plankton such as water plants, algae, and bacteria (those that photosynthesis) are known to produce 70% oxygen on Earth. Due to sewage and oil spills, the population of these creatures has sunk remarkably in the last decades, causing a rapid decline in the oxygen level of the atmosphere. In addition, the decrease in the number of an animal also has negative impacts on other species in the food chain, including human. A missing link risks the food source of all other species in the system.

Besides ecosystem issues, several problems need immediate reaction to preserve the environment. Finding alternative resources is one of them. In the last century, fossil fuels waste and emissions contaminate not only the air but also the land and the water. And as we are exhausting all the oil and charcoal mines, finding new, clean, and safe forms of energy is essential to future development.

Another difficulty is to heal the ozone holes. The amount of ultraviolet radiation penetrating through these holes is a direct threat to human health. It can cause sunburn, and even worse, skin cancer. The ozone damage can be permanent if no reaction takes place.

In brief, humans need to protect nature to safeguard themselves, and preserving wildlife is among the top urgent missions.