"Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion."

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In today's era, various environmental problems are encountered which are caused by more than one source. Extinction of certain species of plants and animals is one of them. Although it cannot be considered as a main environmental issue.

It can be understood that there are a variety of plants and animals which used to contribute to the natural habitat in the ancient times have become extinct in today's world. One of them to mention, are Mammoths who lived in extremely cold climate during ice age. Alongside them, various plants having medicinal use have become extremely rare to find forcing use to find alternative medical solutions.

Although these problems can be a threat to the biodiversity there are certain alarming issues that need to be dealt with on priority. One of such danger is of Global Warming. Today, the emissions of greenhouse gases reach a peak due to extensive use of automobiles, industries, and various electrical appliances. It won't be false to say that overall advancement in technology is having a side effect on the environment which is a main concern. Rising sea levels, deforestation, pollution is some of the growing concerns for humanity.

All in all, although the loss of biodiversity can be of some concern, I feel that there are more alarming issues at hand that need immediate attention in order for humanity to survive the next century. If these issues are not controlled soon by taking necessary precautions, the day where we would roam the streets wearing an oxygen mask will not be far.