Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that the major environmental issue is more crucial to be concerned, others feel that the wildlife and plant species on the verge of extinction these days is a real threat to sustainable Earth. There are arguments on both sides which we will discuss here.

On the one side, objectors of addressing natural extinction as overriding factor of ecological problem argue that the rapid population growth of a region induces overwhelming electricity consumption. A heated issue emerges on Jakarta-Indonesia, coal-fired power plant emitting great smog, releasing PM2.5 which sickens citizens from respiratory and pulmonary diseases. Furthermore, regarding plastic waste in oceans, discharging treated waste water from nuclear plants would threat sea life and ecosystem. The Fukushima nuclear reactors in Japan flows its waste containing (tritium and carbon-14) in the Pacific Ocean, consequently, exported seafood drastically declines due to consumer’s anxiety about water contamination.

On the flip side, together with marine habitat loss (fishing cats and shrimps), large-scale mangrove deforestation could globally endanger the potential of oxygen production higher than urban forests. The more mangroves are used for industrial purposes, the more carbon-capturing ecosystem will not sequester CO2 release on Earth. In addition, more and more marine biodiversity is being threatened due to the growing number of Great Pacific Garbage Patch. A scientific evidence showed that cetaceans, particularly whales, mostly ingest plastic bags and fishing nets resulting in their deaths, which disrupt phytoplankton growth qualifying more productive ocean.

In conclusion, in my standpoint, the balance ecosystem of flora and fauna regarding ecological issues is more feasible action considering the need of storing carbon emission and the key role of more productive natural life. This is as long as the big amount of waste, particularly nuclear, is strictly controlled to retain its standard.