People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

It is true that consumption of beverages containing sugar has been increasing in every part of the world. While several reasons can be attributed to this worrying trend, practical steps can be taken to mitigate the problem.

The greatest reason for rising intake of sugary drinks is their addictive and delicious taste. Sugar consumption can create a short-term high and a spark of energy in the body and the brain as it releases dopamine, a hormone attaches to pleasure. Some studies have suggested that sugar is as addictive as cocaine. Besides, soft drinks advertisements often target at children, who are not yet aware of health consequences and are easily swayed by the taste and the satisfaction these products bring. In addition, these kinds of beverages are ubiquitous. In the hectic life nowadays, people tend to consume packaged food and drinks, and sugar-sweetened beverages can easily be purchased at any convenient stores, supermarkets and even sold in combination with fast food to induce appetite, resulting in higher demand.

There are three measures that would be effective in tackling the rise in the popularity of sugary drinks. Firstly, governments should raise taxes on the sales of soft drinks. For example, France has imposed tax of €7.5 per hectolitre on drinks containing at least 1g of sugar per 100ml, and those containing more than 11g of sugar per 100ml, will be taxed at €20 per hectolitre. Secondly, vending machines should reduce the number of sugar-based drink bottles to help discourage the consumption of sugary drinks in schools, bus stations, cinemas and hospitals. Finally, health awareness campaigns on TV and the internet could help in combatting the promotion of soft drinks by marketing agencies, including the compulsory addition of health warnings on labels, as in the case of tobacco products.

In conclusion, although the addiction and tastiness of sugar has resulted in increased sales of sweetened drinks, effective measures can be taken to annihilate this issue.