Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

music has the magic power that can gather people around regardless of their backgrounds and ages. I completely agree with this viewpoint.

Firstly, although music is delivered in a variety of forms, with or without lyrics, the core of music, comprised of rhythm and melody, is unchangeable. In other words, the emotion that the songwriter tries to express via the song is not only based on the lyrics but, more importantly, relies on the rhythm and melody of the music. For instance, a Chinese can also understand what feeling an English song wants to express even he does not understand a single word in the song. that is why even a piece of music without any lyrics like symphony can touch the world and be passed down forever. Thus, a classic song or piece of melody is cross-culture and age unbiased.

Furthermore, the same melody can attract people from different places of the world and age groups by a variety of lyrics in other languages. For example, many Cantongnese songs have their Mandarin versions to express different meanings. Therefore audiences with diverse backgrounds can develop their understandings out of the same music. Some songs may have various language versions, and deliver the same message to various groups around the world. For example, the classic "Do you hear the people sing?" in the musical show "Les Miserables" encouraged the whole world via multiple language versions and united people together to protest against tyranny recently.

In conclusion, despite facing barriers such as language, culture, and age, music is still a prime approach to bring people together.