Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in

easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It has been argued for decades that common world competitions such as football world cup and international athletic ceremonies are crucial in alleviating international pressure and upholding a nationalistic spirit in a harmless manner. However, I strongly believe that there are convincing points why this fact is wrong and has been extended too far.

At first, such events are competitive and create discord as well as chaos between the winning and lossing nations. International athletics can either end with a loss or win and a victor and vanquished. The nation that has been so unfortunate in lossing might therefore become embittered and engrieved, become violent and cause harm to the opponent.such condition could deteriorate to a catastrophic scale and worsen relation between nations. The effect is that countries would become long term foes and this would not encourage national peace keeping negotiations. As an example the vicious relationship between Germany and England stemmed from the conflict that arose when England beat Germany woefully in the Atlantic 1996 games.

Also international athletic competitions worsen the economy and lifestyle condition of the host country thereby citizens wallow in penury. During the period of such world sports events, the incidence of crime abounds as there are influx of people from all continents of the world coming to watch the games. Countries limited resources like social amenities, food and shelter are also exhausted , social insecurity is heightened as the foreigners might have conflicting and ulterior motives. Such breakdown in countries economical and social conditions could make the citizens become less faithful to its country and lose the spirit of comradeship.

In conclusion, though it is a popular belief that intercontinental sporting events play a pertinent role in improving international relationship and creating a patriotic emotion, I believe that the evils that emanate from such ceremonies far surpass any positive effect it could ever have.