Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The necessity of learning an additional language frequently generates a heated debate with some claim that the primary reason to do so is the possibility to travel for work or pleasure, while others argue that there are more tangible benefits. In my personal opinion, I completely agree with the latter assertion. This essay will demonstrate that people who know more than their mother tongue could have greater job opportunities, followed by an analysis of how this could help the learner to enhance his knowledge and accept cultural differences.

There is an argument of justification that the statement to wit; there has been a growing tendency to learn a new language because people have the hope to move to other countries in search of better job opportunities. The rationale behind this is that a vast majority from developing countries want to find happiness in industrialized nations, as big countries would provide better working terms due to the high living standard there. According to the PEW Center, 55% of Vietnamese agreed that they want to study English to work in countries such as America or Australia.

Nonetheless, to my mind, it is more imperative to reminisce that one should not learn a foreign language to satisfy physical needs only, but also for moral needs. This borne by the fact that a language is the best reflection of the culture that goes with it, therefore, people who have a big thirst for knowledge would want to do so to broaden their knowledge, stem from national holidays to the cuisine of a different nation. The Times recently reported that by learning about the cultural differences, people would become more open-minded and tolerant.

Subsequently, weighing all the aforementioned, it can be safely stated it is beneficial for people to learn an additional language because it not only helps them to work or to travel in a foreign country but also to acknowledge about the beauty of a different culture and hence, erase culture boundary.