Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, there has been a growing tendency of commercial advertising and people are overwhelming as it appears everywhere from television to the internet. There are both liability and merit to this as will be explained, though overall, placing both variant facts on the scale, it is incontrovertible that the negative aspect outweighs the benefit. This essay will highlight a greater array of selections as the utility and an increasingly materialistic society as the shortcoming of it.

In the midst of the pre-imminence of the advantages, the subject is not at all bereft of disadvantages foremost of which is advertising is the key part of modern business. This borne by the fact that companies need to tell customers about their products and advertisements help them to inform us about the choices that we have and therefore, without advertisements there would be fewer choices. According to the PEW Center, advertisements could increase around 56% profits of a company and hence, many businesses paid advertising companies a large amount of money.

What further amplifies fortifies the dominance ascendancy of the disadvantage over the advantage is that advertisements manipulate people. The rationale behind this is that they use famous people to promote brand images and associate these brands with higher standards and hence, people are persuaded that buy these items would make them feel happier. The Times recently reported that a vast majority who easily be influenced by advertisements are children and thereby, these youngsters would pressure their parents to buy them things.

In gist, having considered the benefit and drawback, it is clear that this is a negative development and that it has a significant impact on the contemporary business world by helping companies to attract customers, however, by manipulating the public in their favor.