Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

ome people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

There are different opinions towards the purpose of learning foreign language. Some people claim that it is only needed if people travel or work abroad, while others believe that someone may learn new languages for not only this reason. This essay will discuss both views before reaching the conclusion that studying foreign languages is not only for visiting or working overseas.

On the one hand, some people say that learning a new language is just essential for someone who goes abroad because they need it to communicate with native speakers. Particularly, speaking the host country’s language could help people avoid misunderstanding when communicating, so they fit into a new country better. However, people who do not travel or work overseas have not to do it because learning a new language is useless. To be specific, several people are of the view that speaking foreign languages is not necessary when they do not have a chance to visit abroad or they just have jobs at state-owned companies. For example, there is no reason for Vietnamese people to learn English or Korean if they work in Vietnam

On the other hand, I strongly believe that people should learn new languages despite not going abroad due to its benefits. In more detail, speaking foreign languages could help people improve their communication skills, so they may feel more confident when talking to others. For instance, people could easily give a foreigner directions if they know the language, but not feel shy because they do not know how to do that. Moreover, a multilingual could have more job opportunities, especially in the increasing trend of globalisation. To explain, many companies now require employees to speak more than one language, so it is a reason why learning new languages is beneficial in spite of working in native country.

To conclude, although some people claim that studying foreign languages is just essential for visiting or working overseas, I argue that these are not the only reasons for becoming multilingual since many advantages involving interpersonal skills and employment possibilities are offered.