Nuclear energy is the best source of power for today’s global energy needs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, it is argued that the optimal source of energy satisfying global demands is nuclear power. I completely agree with this statement because several benefits are offered.

To begin with, nuclear energy provides people with higher productivity compared to other sources. To be specific, a nuclear factory has the ability to generate power that meets demands of numerous households. For example, a French nuclear plant could supply electricity for at least 3 cities using a small amount of plutonium. Moreover, this type of source could be more reliable as it is independent of weather conditions. The process of producing electricity by nuclear power occurs in a station, so it is not affected by wind, sun or rain. In contrast, wind turbines are not efficient in milder weather and solar energy could not be utilised in rains. It seems that nuclear energy is the most effective method to produce electricity, heat or other power.

Despite these advantages, some people still claim that nuclear power is not as good as others argue. They may think the generation of this source releases CO2 emissions to the atmosphere which leads to greenhouse effects. However, I personally believe it is one of the most eco-friendly powers. Particularly, nuclear energy is produced by splitting atoms instead of burning fuel, therefore it is almost zero-emissions. Some research papers show that nuclear energy helped humans avoid nearly 63 tonnes of CO2 discharged from 1971 to 2018. On the other hand, the process of burning charcoal or gas emits several tonnes of CO2 emissions annually. Clearly, nuclear power has done much less damage to the environment as opposed to fuels.

To conclude, although some people still doubt the role of nuclear energy in human life, I am of the view that it is the most effective power as it has a higher level of productivity, is more reliable and does not pollute the environment as much as other sources.