Some people say that only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, people migrating to foreign countries have become pretty normal. Whilst, some people argue that the purpose of learning a foreign language is to meet the demands which arises due to travel or work, others argue that there are other several reasons to learn the foreign language. I opine that, majority of people learn foreign language due to their travel of work commitments in abroad.

Firstly, the people who pursue foreign language for other purpose other than travel or work may be due to several factors. Might be due to love towards the language and its cultural background or to create a replica of the contents such as but not limited to medical information, movies, research information and other prominent data’s. For instance, I have seen people studying a language called ‘Tamil’, which is used in southern part of India and other few south east Asian countries. This is may be due to ‘Tamil’ being the oldest language and spoke by enormous people across the globe. Some people learn foreign language to steal the contents and replicate in their own language.

People learning foreign language due to travel or work may be due to obvious reasons that they need to overcome the social and practical problems during their stay. This would facilitate the communication process and aid them to mingle with the local culture. For instance, my friend who visited France for his works studied French, which assisted him to familiarize with the local culture and easily communicate with his French colleagues. It helped him to address the problem and explain in French to his colleagues to understand the rout cause of the issue. Furthermore, people visiting for a tour, learning basic commands in local language will play an essential part in their trip, like stimulating the enthusiasm of local people for any guidance.

To conclude, people migrate to abroad is more in this challenging world and they tend to acquire some skills like learning foreign language hoping that this would be an added advantage. While some people learn language jus to fulfill their interest or for some specific reasons, whom are relatively less as compared to migrants.