Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technological innovations have resulted in a tremendous change in the way people communicate with each other. This shift has also changed the dynamics of relationships amongst them.

The onset of virtual world has created a parallel world for may people. Due to better technology, there has been an increase in communication through internet platforms and phones. As a result, most of the relationships developed today are of virtual nature. For example, an employee interacting with a vendor in different country never meets him physically, but yet maintains a professional relationship via emails, calls etc. Similarly, rest of the relationships in our life are also increasingly being established in virtual world itself. Although, we still maintain physical interaction with our immediate family and friends, the rise in number of relationships developed through internet based social media platforms indicate a different picture. It points to a scenario where face-to-face interactions are being under-valued and greater importance is given to our parallel world.

This trend is considered to have both positive and negative trends. While it cannot be denied that technology has helped us to be closer by improving communication. This is a positive trend for professional sphere and also personal sphere. For e.g., business decisions can be communicated effectively through technology in any part of the world. Also family persons can be contacted easily and frequently around the globe. The time lag has been eliminated due to faster communication medium. However, on the other hand, this also means that we are never disconnected from each other. This can have severe implications, as individuals may end up with lack of personal space and time, and thus, this may affect their well-being.

In conclusion, I believe, although technology has enabled us to have better interactions in terms of quantity, it has not necessarily helped us in improving their quality. Therefore, I think this change has been more of negative development for us than positive.