Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that foreign language acquisition only serves travel and employment purposes. However, many people disagree with this viewpoint and say that there are multiple reasons why a foreign language should be learned. Personally, while I acknowledge the importance of foreign languages for tourism and work, I am in favor of the latter opinion.

On the one hand, it is worth considering that travelling and employment stood out as the primary stimulants for a person to learn a language other than his native tongue. In terms of travelling, a command of other languages would be useful for a tourist in several aspects. For instance, he would not have to pay a great deal to hire a tour guide as his language competency would enable him to explore the destination on his own. Furthermore, one’s opportunities of employment are enhanced should he be able to use another language for he can apply for jobs both domestically and internationally. Therefore, such significant are the impacts that some people may think they are the only purposes for learning foreign languages.

On the other hand, knowledge of foreign languages could benefit a person in numerous other ways namely education and entertainment. Firstly, one’s studying could be facilitated with the ability to speak other languages as it not only helps people gain knowledge from various sources but also increases their chances of going overseas to experience a different education. In addition, considering entertainment, knowing another language could be helpful as well. For example, it would be more pleasant if you can watch movies without bothering to look at the subtitles or in some cases when the subtitles are not available, your enjoyment of the movies would not be disrupted because you can understand the language spoken in the films. It is undeniable that these merits of language learning also contribute to one person’s improvement.

In conclusion, while I agree that it is travel and employment advantages that appeal people to study foreign languages, I believe other motivations are of equal importance for the aforementioned reasons.