Some people say that smoking should be banned in all public places, even though it would restrict some of other people’s freedoms. Do you agree or disagree?

The question regarding smoking has recently become high on today’s agenda. It is argued that restrictive rules prohibiting smoking should be implemented in all public areas. I strongly agree with this statement and believe that smoking outside distorts children’s perception of smoking and it takes a heavy toll on the environment.

Firstly, smoking begins to be accepted as a normal act among youngsters. This is because teenagers tend to blindly follow what they see in the social environment. Hence smoking becomes deeply rooted in the minds of children and they start smoking. For example, according to the social research conducted by the Higher School of Economics, 78% of girls and boys started smoking because of society’s positive attitude to this action. In the other words, if we want to change the viewpoint of smoking among the younger generation, we should ban smoking cigarettes in public places and stigmatize it.

Secondly, smoking cigarettes in public places is tragically harmful for the environment.

This is because cigarette butts consist of cellulose acetate which tragically exacerbates the environment state; therefore, smokers are literally polluters. For example, St. Petersburg is mired in trash, especially in butts. The reason is that there are no strict rules governing smoking in public areas in this city. As a result, St. Petersburg is one of the most polluted cities in Europe. To sum up, smoking in public places ought to be banned if we want to save the environment and improve the quality of life.

In conclusion, I totally agree with the idea of prohibition of smoking in public areas and think that inadequate teenagers’ perception and contamination are unacceptable.