Some people say we do not need printed paper newspaper anymore. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The proliferation of technology in recent decades has marked its impacts in innumerable aspects of life. One of them is the shift in the way people receive information. Some people suggest that the role of newspaper is no longer essential, therefore, newspaper should be eliminated. I somewhat agree with this view as the production of conventional newspapers may take its toll on the environment and new technological equipment is a more useful replacements, even though the mantainance the old-fashioned media channel could appear as justified.

Given the advent of new technological advancements, the need for conventional newspaper might not be necessary. There has been a growing trend that people deploy smart devices for attaining news daily. While newspapers seems difficult to carry, having restricted amount of data, and being slow in terms of updating information, the online news, which are stored in handheld devices, are portable, embed with huge amount of information, and offers users up-to-the-minute news. This gives news on the internet dinstinct advantages over its outdated counterparts. The creations of new technological breakthroughs thus place newspaper at risk of disapperance.

Another reason upholding the elimination of printed newspaper is the repercussions the media platform has on the environment. It is thought that the manufacture of newspapers, which require paper from trees as the main material, contributed to deforestation, the phenomenon that destroys the ecosystem. This not only deteriorates the nature but exacerbates the existing pollution on the earth, which threaten the health and even survival of humankind. If people read news on the internet, human's impacts on the environment would be ameliorated. Thus, sustaining newspaper may act as a catalyst for the deterioration of the biodiversity.

Admittedly, there are certain benefits associated with the traditional newspaper designs. The primary merit is that newspapers do not cointain many distractions similar to the digital news. This is deeply rooted in the nature of technical devices, which are created to serve multi-faceted functions for users, which may promt unwanted disturbances to people. In this case, newspaper may be superior to modern technical gadgets. People; however, can adjust their settings in order to relieve such spams.

In sum, I mostly side with those who believe that printed newspaper is insignificant in today's world as smart devices and computers offer better experience and produce less carbon-footprint.