It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

There are noticeable efforts in educating children right and wrong. One of those includes the employ of punishment as a method of emphasizing the distinction. This approach has both pros and cons, which will be discussed below.

On the one hand, through generations, punishment has gradually become a superior method of teaching children discipline. It is considered as an effective way applied by educators and parents whenever the kids have aggressive behaviour. The punishment can vary from a short detention after school, in which students may be gathered in a classroom to do some extra exercises or homework, to a longer detention conducted by parents, such as the prohibition of phones in a few days or weeks, or freedom restriction. These actions prove to have a positive impact in certain cases. However, with some rebellious teenagers, these types of punishments mentioned above may bring negative effects. Children at this age may think of solutions against these punishments, such as sneaking out with friends, or worse, they try to steal the phone back from their teachers or parents. Furthermore, when it comes to penalising, some parents, especially the father, have a tendency to use violent penalties, namely hitting or, sometimes, slapping in the face. These cases have been reported in some remote areas in poor or developing countries like South Africa or Vietnam.

Therefore, it can be seen that punishments may be useful in particular circumstances and children, but the effective of this method should not be generalized in every situation. Instead, there should be clear guidelines for educators and parents to apply appropriate punishments to kids. As listed above, some penalties like a short detention, in which parents or teachers allow the kids to review their schoolwork, housework or do some volunteer work, should be promoted as it not only encourages children to learn morality and social values but also acts as an intermediary in helping children to recognize the moral sense. Furthermore, punishments such as restriction of freedom and phones may be employed but need careful consideration in accordance with the children's actual personality, to extend or shorten the period of detention.

In sum, I believe punishments are useful in certain circumstances, but it requires a thorough consideration of the adults before actually implementing any type of punishment since every child has a distinct personality. The type of punishments listed above may be suitable for some children but not all.