Some people say that what children watch influences their behaviour Others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behaviour most Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is an issue of controversy over whether children’s behavior is influenced by television content or long screen time. While a long time watching TV exerts adverse impacts on the behavior of children, I suppose that there are manifold downsides of harmful content on television.

On the one hand, there is little room for doubt that disadvantages of watching TV for too much time. Firstly, long television time deprives children of time for outdoor activities and sports. In lieu of spending time on physical exercises, they only become coach potatoes, which gives rise to an array of their health problems, such as diabetes and disorders of their eyes. Secondly, an excessive amount of screen time would pose a threat to youngsters’ fundamental social skills. Hence, when they encounter personal adversities, it is an uphill task for them to deal with that, even they will have difficulties in communicating and expanding their social circle.

On the other hand, television contents easily put young people’s development in jeopardy. There is an uncontrolled increase of bad image’s appearances on TV which are the culprit of disorders of children’s awareness and behavior. An explanation is that with cutting-edge technology, content creators have opportunities to post everything which contains scenes of sex, violence, even crimination as long as they have a chance to make a profit. Not only that, but parents nowadays also tend to have longer working hours and spend little time taking care of their offspring. As a result, vulnerable children would follow those bad television contents and go on the wrong track.

In conclusion, although disadvantages of spending a long time watching TV are obvious, I subscribe to the opinion that unhealthy information on television puts youngsters’ behavior at stake.