In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with that statement?

In the future, traditional newspapers and books would not be of prevalence because people will be able to get access to online reading materials without any expense. Although I strongly suppose that online newspapers and e-books would be available for everyone, it is my contention that people would keep buying printed ones because of their benefits.

On the one hand, there is little room for doubt that online gazettes and books are advantageous and may become the first choice for readers. Firstly, people would derive different sources of knowledge and up-to-the-minute information from online reading materials. For example, via projects on websites of non-government organizations, readers have a chance to get exposed to a reservoir of knowledge that is free of charge. Secondly, online newspapers and books also bring people a sense of convenience owing to their accessibility. An explanation is that people nowadays could get access to a wide range of knowledge in the blink of an eye everywhere with their technological gadgets such as smartphones or laptops in lieu of thick dense books.

On the other hand, it stands to reason that physical newspapers and books still play an integral part in the reading culture. First, some people have a keen interest in the experience of reading and collecting printed books. Thanks to holding a book in hand, they can immerse themselves in their own zone and enjoy their private moments. Furthermore, some people suppose that online newspapers and books deprive them of concentration because of pop-up advertisements. Those advertisements give them a nuisance and do not allow them to put their concentration to the maximum.

In conclusion, while I believe that people are pretty keen on reading online reading materials, I also subscribe to the opinion that printed newspapers and books still are very important.