People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

Working extended hours is of prevalence in the society today. While I suppose that this phenomenon has manifold disadvantages, it is my contention that the advantages of it are noticeable as well.

It stands to reason that there are severe impacts on individuals who work long hours. Firstly, the frequency of long working hours put overworked people's health in jeopardy. In fact, not only could it increase risks of physical illness such as obesity and heart attack, but it also are the culprit of mental disorders in the light of work-related stress. Secondly, busy working schedules are able to deprive workaholics of the opportunity to take care of their children. As a result, the generation gap between them will widen unexpectedly.

On the other hand, it is within the realm of possibility that extended hours of work is found attractive by manifold people, especially young people. First, thanks to working long hours, individuals have more opportunities to accumulate their professional experience and sharpen their exclusive skills. Accordingly they may have a chance to develop their career and get promoted to higher positions. Furthermore, should people spend hours on working, together they will create a favorable working environment for everyone to concentrate on their work. As an obvious consequence, the number of working productions will soar, so it is deemed to be a contributing factor to the economic development.

In conclusion, although I believe that the drawbacks of extended hours of work are adverse, I also subscribe to the opinion that it exerts positive impacts on workaholics.