Some people say that what children watch on TV influences their behaviour while others say the amount of time children they spend watching Tv influences their behavior most. discuss both views and give your opinion

Many people believe that the content of television has the biggest impact on children’s behaviors, whereas others believe that it is the amount of time they spend watching television that affects them the most. Personally I would argue that it is the television’s content that has the strongest influence on the way children behave.

On the one hand, it is beyond the question that spending too much time on television will get youngsters addicted to it. Firstly, television is likely to be the biggest obstacle that distracts kids from concentrating on their studying. Children, due to their mischievous nature, tend to prefer wasting their time on all the sources of entertainment including television, phone, computer rather than focusing on their assignments or homework. As a result, those that are addicted to television seem to frequently receive bad grades at school. Secondly, excessive television watching blocks children from the outside world. As far as I am concerned, spending a huge amount of time on television may impair children’s social skills as they would choose to stick their eyes on the television screen over communicating or taking part in other outdoor activities with their parents or other kids at the same age. Eventually, these children may hinder their development of social skills and may suffer from detrimental physical health when they grow up.

On the other hand, I believe that the broadcasted image also has some outweighed disadvantages. The first drawback is that television programs these days usually display inappropriate materials for young viewers such as movies that contain violence, music videos offer nudity or contain lyrics that mention sexual behaviors, drugs abuse, etc. therefore, kids who watch these unsuitable programs on television are more likely to be influenced in an improper way and consequently, they would try to imitate what they have watched. Another point is that there are also a wide range of commercial advertisements on television which may cause some negative effects on children. For example, if a child accidentally watches an advertisement about an appealing toy or a new kind of fast food, they will keep pestering their parents to buy it for them impulsively.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is the content of television that has the most negative effect on children. I therefore would suggest that parents should control the amount of time their kids spend on television and try to make sure what they are watching is appropriate.