it is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that it is not feasible or useful to provide access to university for a great numbers of youngsters. Personally I completely agree with this view.

There are two main reasons why providing access to university for the majority of young people is impossible. One reason is that it will cost a huge amount of money/prohibitive. If this happens, the budget of the government will not be sufficient to cover the high expense of many buildings that are built in order to serve the needs of university entrance for an increasing number of students. Furthermore, the standard grades to enter into university will need to be lowered as this is the only way to enable those with lower grades in the entrance exam to gain admittance. This will result in the fact that the quality of university education will be degrading.

Apart from the disadvantages expressed above, I believe that it is also not useful to offer university entrance for the majority of youngsters. The main reason is that entering into university requires knowledge and other practical skills related to that particular subjects or fields. For example, students who enroll in university with the goal to become a computer programmer must meet the demand of acquiring a decent literacy of computer skills. Therefore, allowing people with no relevant horizon to enter into a certain university is not an efficient way to enhance the standard of education and life in one’s country.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that providing university access for the majority of young people is impossible and impractical.