Some people say that what children watch on TV influences their behaviour while others say the amount of time children they spend watching Tv influences their behavior.

There has always been controversy as regards whether or not children watch television which affected their behavior. While some people are against this practice, I am strongly opinion that both of these factors can have an impact on a child's bahaviour, especialy when the two factors are combined

Firstly, over the last decade or two, there has been a steady increase in the amount of inappropriate content that has been allowed to be televised. Television programmes and commercials these days are full of graphic violence, sex scenes and sexual connotations, amongst other topics that are considered unsuitable for children’s viewing. Even cartoon programmes these day are full of violence. Young children are the most affected by this issue due to the fact that they are still learing and developing ideas about the world. Being exposed to such content can negatively shape their views and personal relationships, and therefore affect their behavior.

However, not only does the content of what children watch affect their behavior but also how much time they spend watching television. In most modern societies it is very common for young children to spend hours of their day with their eyes glued to the television screen. Many children watch television as soon as they wake up in the morning and as soon as they come home from school. Many parents even consider the television to be like a baby-sitter, something to keep their children occupied. Unfortunately, this has many detrimental effects on children’s behavior, the primary reason being that most children suffer from a severe lack of outdoor activity and exercise, which are viatl for a child’s well-being and development.

In conclusion, I believe that both what children watch and how much time they spend watching television can impact their behavious. Governing authorites should consider more stringent regulations when it comes to television programme content and parents need to be more careful about how much time their children spend watching television everyday to avoid the negative implications that it can have their children’s behaviour.