Some people say that when dividing how taxes should be spent, the government should prioritize health care. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that governments should make health care a priority when it comes to deciding how taxes should be spent. I disagree with this opinion because I believe that although health care is an important part of public service, it is paramount to invest sufficient money in other areas as well.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that sufficient funds should be allocated to health care sectors. Firstly, adequate money in health care means fewer obstacles for prophylactic treatment research. When Centre for Disease Control developing the vaccine for H1N1, a type of flu common in pigs and contagious to human, a lot of money needed to be invested in research facilities and hiring experts of infectious diseases to prevent the public from being infected with it. Secondly, smooth running of public hospitals needs sufficient fund allocation from the government. In order to ensure that the public have access to affordable healthcare service, a large amount of money is expected from government so that hospitals can provide low cost treatment for their patients.

On the other hand, money from taxpayers are required by other public sectors which are as important as healthcare. The water supply network and power grip of a city need sufficient funds for their maintenance and upgrade from time to time so that citizens can have access to water when they want to take a shower and have their television on when it is time for their favorite program. What’s more, better public transportation requires significant investment as well. As the public transportation system is improving, the travel experience would be better too because of more comfortable seats and larger passenger capacity. As a result, fewer cars would be on the roads, and traffic congestions in cities can be eased.

In conclusion, I admit that providing sufficient funding to healthcare is important, other areas of public service should be allocated with adequate money as well.