Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe

that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a common belief that all convicts must be sent to jail, while others argue that alternative methods should be of greater effectiveness for them to amend themselves. From my perspectives, I believe in the veracity of the latter opinion.

Those who are in favor of incarceration have a number of reasons to justify their viewpoints. Firstly, restricting one’s liberty can act as a deterrent against all offenders, making them less inclined to commit crimes. As a result, the security of society could be enhanced, citizens are more able to enjoy a serene and safety life. In fact, Hanoi has been recognized as a peaceful metropolis since this city has introduced more stringent laws concerning criminality. Furthermore, imprisonment not only ensures justice will be applied in all aspects of life, but more importantly, consoles the pains of victims knowing that the criminal himself is punished.

Nevertheless, it is my belief that this act is unable to eradicate the root of crimes. Prison time could not rehabilitate criminals, thus only could education and training help them realize their wrongful actions and show determination to change. Prisoners are likely to turn over a new leaf and easier re-integrate into the community thanks to such inspiring and useful lessons. Another important solution should be to supply perpetrators with job opportunities. Given secured jobs with sufficient income, they will never risk their liberty, but try to become ordinary residents. Michigan, which, in light of the policy named “Employment for everyone”, has reduced its crime rates by 10% in 2018, would serve as a salient example.

In conclusion, in my view, all lawbreakers should be given a second chance to correct their faults instead of being forced to spend years behind bars, which could be meaningless.