Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people suppose that university should only teach subjects that will be helpful for their students, others believe that students have the right to decide what subject which they want to learn. In my opinion, although both points of view are suitable for students, I agree with the second statement.

On the one hand, we can not refuse the important role of students in science and technology. Firstly, they give knowledge that will help learners to confront with the innovative challenges in the modern world. Therefore, students can acquire several crucial positions in the workplace if they comprehend these subjects. Secondly, a majority of companies not only inside the country but also all around the world always need technical and scientific their employees’ knowledge. For example, Japan recruited more than 5000 workers, who graduated from Vietnam’s universities, had experience in the field of information technology in 2015.

On the other hand, students will gain more other useful knowledge if they have the right to learn what they like. In the academic side, for instance, learners want to study the history which equips them several important periods of the past and distinguish not only the culture but also the custom between two nations. Therefore, they will not experience shock culture feelings when they go abroad. Besides, several learners also keen on studying foreign languages which help them broaden not only the knowledge but also the relationship around the world.

In conclusion, while subjects such as science and technology always have a good role in the future, in my viewpoint, I totally agree that students should study whatever they like.