Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

University-goers often have a hard time making their subject choices. While some suggest that students should have the freedom to study what they like, others argue that it is better to restrict them to science and technology studies. In my view, students should be allowed to pursue their unique and potentially diverse academic interests for the sake of their future development.

Giving young people the latitude to choose their degree courses, some argue, can improve their academic performance and advance their future careers. If students are able to choose majors that align with their interests, they will be more passionate about what they are taught in the lecture hall and will devote more time and energies to their studies. This enables them to achieve good grades and develop an area of specialization within their major that can better prepare them for employment.

The counter-argument, however, is that students should be restricted to subjects deemed useful by the job market. Today employers often place a premium on graduates in science majors, such as Computer Science, Software Engineering and Communications Technology, and young people enrolling in these courses can find it easier to land a good job and succeed in their careers. By contrast, those who follow their passion without considering job market characteristics may put themselves at a disadvantage when it comes to job-hunting. Therefore, universities should limit their students to subjects related to science and technology.

My view is that it is in students’ best interests to choose subjects in which they are interested. This can not only improve their academic performance but also enhance their employment prospects. Narrowing students’ choices would in effect do more harm than good as it could lead to an oversupply of graduates in certain fields, weakening their job competitiveness. It is therefore wiser to allow university students to make decisions on their own.