Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many think that students should be free to choose any topic to study in university while others insist that choices should be limited to those that are expected to be in demand by the job market. In my opinion, both views have merit and each of them has its pros and cons.

Allowing students to select from a wide range of subjects can be advantageous in many ways. For example, it permits them to engage in subjects that they are passionate about and interested in. Also, it gives them the opportunity to select topics that they are skilled at. However, it can lead students astray as they, especially the younger ones, might not have the wisdom or knowledge to select the best subject for them professionally and, therefore, commit to fields that are not financially or productively rewarding.

Similarly, restricting students to fewer choices that are more likely to lead to lucrative jobs has its advantages and disadvantages. Advantages include maximizing the monetary and professional benefits of a tertiary degree. On the other hand, this type of restriction may lead students to select topics which they have no interest in or curiosity about, which would lead to inferior performance and little enjoyment which can lead to undesirable outcomes including dropouts and low employability.

In conclusion, students should select areas of study based on multiple factors including personal, financial, and professional fulfillment; so, the extent to which students’ university subject choices should be restricted needs to strike a balance between student interests as well as skills and employment prospects.