Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like Others believe that they should be only allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology Discuss both these views and

It is argued that whether some useful subjects should be compulsory to all undergraduates or university students should be allowed to choose the subject which they desire to study. I do believe that undergraduates are mature enough to decide their study path by selecting what subjects to devote time and effort to.

To begin with, it is undeniable that some scientific and technological courses bring plenty of benefits for the students’ future. Those essential subjects equipped students with elementary and vital skills such as computer literature or data processing skill, certainly, these skills play an extremely important part in applying for a high-paying job. Without these fundamental capacities, after graduation, students will find it hard to get a satisfying job and regrettably lose their golden opportunity.

On the other hand, most university students are self-conscious of their strengths and limitations, hence, they know what is best and most necessary for them. Therefore, they should be encouraged to select what subject will help them discover more about their potentials and firmly enhance their abilities as well as appropriately preparing for their career path.

Personally, I do suppose that students have their right in choosing suitable subjects to study. Different students with distinctive talents and skills will create a diverse and profound society. On the contrary, if universities only focus on teaching students some particular scientific subjects, graduates will be all the same as who they have been trained to be. As a result, there will be no difference as everyone are scientists instead of artists or businessman.

In conclusion, I do agree that the university curriculum should include some practical as well as essential subjects to prepare students for a better career, besides, students should be promoted to explore more about themselves by exposing themselves to their desired subjects.