Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been a controversy on the university program, in which some people declare that students should be free to choose what they want to study, whereas some claim that university programs should only include the necessary subjects for their future. These perspectives will be discussed as follows.

On the one hand, each individual has unique talents that may differentiate them from the other, and because of that, demanding all students to learn the same subjects would not be appropriate for certain individuals to develop their capabilities. For example, some students may have a passion for arts, whose minds are creative and dreaming, and it will be non-practical if the university requires them to sign up for some science class that is more realistic and concise. Therefore, it is better if individuals can decide what they will learn at university.

On the other hand, with the significant development of technology these days, it is, certainly important to let the young generation catch up with the trend by incorporating useful subjects like science or technology in their study. In Vietnam, it is estimated that most companies require graduates to have certain knowledge regarding technology in order to support their jobs. Those careers namely teachers, officers or office administrators. It is recorded that in 2023, 83% of graduates in Vietnam with technology knowledge or certificates related to technology can find a job easier than others. For that reason, I think it is right to mark some particular subjects, such as technology, as compulsory for all university students because those are useful for them in the future. However, it should be noted that I dissent with the idea that all university students should be forced to learn necessary subjects for their future only.

In sum, it is crucial for students to follow their own will; however, it is also vital to incorporate some useful subjects that will assist the students in their future into the study program to make it more practical and beneficial for the students.