Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology

The question of which subject will have a more significant impact on the future of a student has been a topic of debate for over a decade. On one hand, some people believe that students should pursue subjects that they find interesting. On the other hand, people believe that subjects that will be useful in the future should be studies.

I believe that students should be allowed to study subjects that they believe in and they find more interesting. If a student chooses a subject under the pressure of building a bright future, there might be repercussions to such decisions. Such a situation can be explained with an example. A student who was interested in sports and athletic activities, chooses to study computer science under the pressure that the job prospect for such a subject is very good in the future. But eventually, as the student graduates and gets a job in the field of computer science, he will complete all his tasks half-heartedly, as he does not find interest in his tasks. He might one day sit on his desk staring at the screen of his laptop and regret his decision of abandoning his passion for sports.

However, there are certain subjects such as science and technology whose advancements will bring prosperity to the world in the future. Students from an early age should be motivated to pursue subjects related to science. But I believe, that imposing a restriction that students should only be allowed to study subjects that are believed to be useful, will put a pressure on the students, rather students should be motivated and inspired with stories from famous scientists, and history of the scientists.

To conclude, enforcing strict rules on what subjects to study will bring in a large number of half interested students to study in the fields related to science and technology. Whereas, motivating and inspiring students from an early age to pursue subjects that will have an impact on the future, will bring a fewer but passionate students to these fields.