Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes Other people believe that it is important

Whilst some people believe that giving children the freedom to make their own decision regarding various activities of daily life would make them grow more selfish and stray into a wrongful path, I believe that children should be given the freedom to have their own opinions about different aspects of their personal lives.

On the one hand, giving children freedom from a very early age might make them arrogant and disrespectful towards others. It is the duty of a parent to teach children to differentiate between the right and wrong. If they are not explained properly about the repercussions of wrong choices, they will grow up to be selfish individuals who do not think beyond his own desires and do not understand the consequences of a wrong decisions. For instance, a child who was given the freedom to mix with any peer group without any restrictions, might mix up with the wrong group of people who abuse drugs and gets into illegal activities. Eventually the child will stray into a wrong path. So, it is important that parents oversee the choices that their children are making, otherwise they will not develop the sense of right and wrong.

On the contrary, children who are given the freedom to make their own decisions to a level will grow up to be a self-sufficient person. It is important that a child learns take decisions on his own from a certain age, otherwise he will always depend on his parents, siblings or surrounding person to take his decisions on behalf of him. So, I believe that a child should be given freedom to a certain level because it will develop the ability to take charge when needed. For instance, a high school student who is interested in ballet should be given the opportunity to explore ballet rather than forcing him/her into debate or sports. Being able to takes decisions in some aspects of life is important for a child’s personal and emotional growth.

To conclude, although allowing children to make decisions of their own sometimes lead them astray, giving them freedom on a certain level to pursue their dreams and aspirations is beneficial for a child to grow up to be a self-sufficient individual.