Nowadays many teenagers have a celebrity who they follow as a role model. Some people think this is not a good idea, because celebrities often set a bad example. Do you agree or disagree?

In the current age, celebrities can reach younger generation through social media more frequently than ever. So, most teenagers nowadays end up having celebrities as their idol. The debate over having a celebrity as a role model has sparked debates on both sides of the spectrum. In my opinion, I agree that celebrities as a role model set a bad example for the youth mainly for two reasons, which I will discuss in the essay.

Celebrities set an unrealistic expectation of the world and of oneself for the teenagers. All the celebrities go through many surgeries and have a team working behind the screen to make them look picture perfect in every situation and aspect. Due to such extensive filtering, teenagers tart to compare the standards of real world with the world of celebrities and end up feeling inferior about themselves. For example, boys feel inferior since they do not possess the muscles like a celebrity do, while girls feel inferior about their looks and physique because the imperfections and flaws of celebrities are hidden under the unrealistic filtering. So, observing lives of celebrities will make today’s youth feel unhappy with what they possess naturally. Teenagers will not feel content with their lives and ultimately follow a bad path trying to achieve what celebrities show off on the media platforms.

Moreover, celebrities are distant figures whose lives are very little known to the teenagers. Whereas, there are many people all around in different professions such as doctors, teachers, police who are working diligently to fulfill their duties everyday. If the youth look to their surroundings, they will be able to notice these hardworking and honest people and these people are not beyond reach. For instance, any student can walk up to their teacher and have a genuine conversation with the teacher and the teacher will try his/her best in helping with any problem the student is facing. So, if the youth is able to observe the regular life of their role models who are within reach, they will get inspired more and will be able to comprehend the reality of the world.

However, some celebrities preach noble and charity works through media platforms which might inspire our youth generation. But, despite such charity efforts, celebrities do not set a good path for the younger generation because they are beyond reach of every teenager who sets them as their role model. Moreover, they set an unrealistic portrayal of their lives which manipulates the expectations of a teenager.