Some people think that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food, clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decision about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people insist that children should have the freedom to decide what they should eat, wear, read or watch. Others opine that if children have the freedom to make their own choices, they will grow up into selfish individuals. In my opinion, children should definitely have the freedom to make their own choices; however, parents should also teach them to respect the needs and wants of others.

It is important for children to make their own choices. This way they can learn to be independent and grow up into strong willed adults who achieve success. What’s more, a child who knows what he wants is more likely to be successful than one who has no clear goals or ambitions. Needless to say, children who take small decisions right from their childhood are better at dealing with challenges and conflicts.

However, there is an important downside to this. Children who make their own choices have increased chances of becoming selfish. For instance, my nephew always insists on watching his favourite programmes on television. He does not care whether the rest of the family likes those shows or not. He is only concerned about what he wants. In future, this attitude will impact his ability to work in a team. He may even fail in his relationships. In short, the lack of emotional intelligence is detrimental to the success and happiness of a child.

In conclusion, although it is important for children to learn to make choices regarding their day to day life, parents must ensure that they are also learning to respect the decisions and choices of others. Only then can they grow up into free-willed adults who also possess empathy.