Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult, they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is contentious whether mathematics and philosophy should be made non-compulsory as they are puzzling for students. In my opinion, I am against the idea that these subjects become nonmandatory ones at school as such subjects, despite being major challenges for students, help students to get both their critical thinking sharpened and skills enhanced.

First, via learning mathematic, students improve their numerical thinking. It is undeniable that one must be not only fluent in basic calculations but also comprehend intermediate or advanced statistical knowledge in the increasingly complex technological world. As students are encouraged to resolve different mathematic problems, from the most fundamental to advanced ones, they have a chance to sharpen their problem-solving skills in numerical terms. Additionally, students who are excel at math tend to think and respond faster to different issues since they possess the ability to grasp, analyze the matter, and propose solutions rapidly.

Second, studying philosophy helps expose students to baffling ideas, which would facilitate students’ intellectual and emotional development. Students, while learning this subject, are allowed to have distinctive interpretations of various philosophical issues and encouraged to engage in discussions with their peers, who may hold either complementary or contradictory views. Thanks to the nature of the subject that force students to develop and defend their viewpoint, youngsters can progressively develop in both terms of intellectuality and emotions.

It is true that such impressive skills are needed to sharpen by consistently working hard through a long period of time. Therefore, students need to be motivated instead of pressured to learn these subjects. One of the most effective methods to incentivize students to learn is to create a healthy competitive environment in which students concurrently compete and help each other to deal with these challenging subjects.

In conclusion, it is vital that the young be encouraged to learn challenging subjects such as mathematics and philosophy individually and cooperatively since these subjects offer valuable insights for them to develop in a wholistic term.