Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this day and age, students have to learn various subjects and some of them can be quite challenging. Among them, mathematics and philosophy are considered as too hard to comprehend. Therefore, many propose that these subjects should not be mandatory but to be chosen at student's disposal. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement and the rationales will be discussed in this essay.

First and foremost, these subjects should be compulsory due to its need for student's development. Mathematics consists of numerous equations and requires lots of calculation which can help to attain logical thinking and problem solving skills. On the other hand, philosophy contains various abstracts which are sometimes hard to perceive but the rewards are the understanding of oneself and identifying personal characteristics. These subjects are so important that the university requires freshmen to have a certain degree of knowledge in these fields before studying any further education.

However, the school should not make students learn to much of these subjects because they also need to consolidate other skill sets. Students should rather spend more time acquiring and sharpening their strong point which can helps them to identify their passion and meet the employer's need in the future career. For those who chase the dream of becoming an entrepreneur, beside learning math, they also need to hone their interpersonal skills and get to know more about the asset and the property accquisition which form the fundamental of business. As the result, students will likely to earn a successful career while maintaining the work- life balance without being snowed under the paperwork.

In all, mathematics and philosophy are the keys to achive logical thinking and the understanding of the ego but students should balance the amount of time spending on these and focus more on their strong point in order to nurture their talent which is crucial for future job. In my opinion, I think the school should take the lead in regulating what subjects will the students learn and nevigate them to identify which types of works that they want to do in the future.