Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motor-bike.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, because of enormous cars and motorcycles produced and sold in almost every countries, so many accidents are being happend every day. Personally, I believe that introducing legislation for forbidding teenagers to drive is not the most effective solution for that immense problem. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, according to the statistics and accident reports, young people do not account for the majority of accidents. Of course they might be responsible for some of these incidents, but adults drivers also have a significant share in this unfortunate consequence of driving. As a result, it cannot be concluded that by giving the driving access just to people who are above a certain age, meaning higher than current limitations, will lead to a remarkable jump in car accident rate.

Second of all, today it takes a very sophisticated process to get a driving licence, which includes theoretical and practical trainings, and a tough final exam. No one can drive a car or even a motorcycle legally without attending and be successful in these sessions. Participation in such a complex and strict process leads to improve knowledge and awareness, as well as driving skills. So, it could be surmised that even younger individuals who could earn a driving certificate, are skillful enough. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I remember when I was 18 and I decided to get a licence, I took many different classes and practices and eventually, a difficult exam.

On the other hand, it should be borne in mind that adolescents are more stubborn and excited than the adults. These psychological properties might put them, and obviously other drivers, in danger. Being observed and advised by an older person, like one of parents or older brother, while driving could be a helpful measure in order to handle this issue.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that although put tougher limitation on legal age of driving might be effective for roads safety to promote, but not the most effective. It is because the youth are not accountable for the major accidents, and because they must pass long-time and difficult trainings before receiving a driving licence.