Some people think that zoos are cruel and that all zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful for protecting rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Since recent centuries, human being has tried to keep various kinds of animals in certain places and run animal exhibitions. Although some argue that this is an advantageous measure due to saving them, others, including myself, believe that it should be stopped due to some drawbacks.

First of all, animals tend to be free, and live freely in their natural habitats. Every creature, including animals, feels belonged to where it is born. Taking them from huge forests and open lands, and then transferring them to close environments and small cages is a cruel not-humanistic action. Secondly, most kinds of animals are social, similar to human itself, and like to live as a group. The harsh and sad process of separating them from other members of group probably makes them depressed and reluctant to reproduce. As a result, the population might eventually decrease, which is a dire consequences for whole environments.

On the other hand, ones who believe zoos are beneficial say that scarce species will extinct in the nature, so it is necessary to keep them in protection and to prepare what is needed for making them give birth. Besides, zoos are interesting for people and by means of that their attentions would be attracted to the issue of saving animals. However, rare animals could be controlled in protected areas, even in their original habitats. In addition, people's could be informed about environmental problems, including animal surviving, by other ways like urban and media advertisements.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that though zoos might have some privileges, they should be closed all over the world. This is because it is not ethical to imprison animals in cages, and because this happening makes them be unwilling to have children and consequently leads their population to decline.