"Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

Road safety has inherently been a noticeable source of concern and sparked a significant level of debate worldwide. While some advocates argue that the most optimal approach to prevent traffic accidents is to raise the limit of driving age as it potentially enhances maturity, I staunchly believe the opposite. The drawbacks associated with increasing the driving age is heavily outweighing its benefits.

Opponents of raising the legal driving age might emphasize its beneficial outcome, prominently leading to traffic accident prevention. In particular, the levels of maturity correlative increase with age, as physical and mental development will reach its fullest potential after a certain age. This leads to more responsible manners when engaging in traffic activities and substantially lowers traffic accident rates. However, age is not the sole determinant of individuals’ maturity and responsibilities. A multitude of factors is also influenced road safety, including education, personal safety awareness, and law compliance, which significantly vary among individuals.

On the other hand, increasing the limit age for legally participating in traffic activities may lead to detrimental drawbacks in the long term, including increasing financial burden and independence infringement. Specifically, shifting the current legal driving age to a higher point will markedly increase the burden in many societal aspects, such as finance, commuting time, and effort. This approach also associates with invading personal independence and impeding self-development. Instead, there are other better strategies to be implemented, in the effort to enhance traffic road regulations. These comprise improving safety rules education, and providing much stricter punishments for driving offenses.

In conclusion, increasing the limit age for driving is not as efficient and appealing approach as it may seem initially, regarding the potential drawbacks associated with it. To minimize the drawbacks, including financial burden and liberty infringement, while maximizing road safety, optimal policies should be devised.