Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic accidents is accountable for subtantial losses of valuable assets and hundreds of thousands of lives each year. To alleviate the impact of the phenomenon, some advocate the increased age for vehicles drivers. I some what disagree with the idea as it would spell trouble for people and society, albeit there are advantages associated with the solution.

Restriction on ages for operating cars and motorbikes may take a toll on personal and societal levels. It is common that cars or motorbikes are the main mode of transit of many young individuals. If these people are deprived of the opportunities to drive, their private lives are likely to be interuptted, rendering them unable to go to school, purchase necessities, and socilize with their peers. Additionally, preventing young drivers from participating in driving may be a prodigality of social resources. While young people can become qualified drivers of specialized vehicles, transporting passengers and goods, imposing limitation on the age of people who drive functional vehicles would disable a certain proportion of the workforce. This increases the cost of labor, exerting pressure on the work market.

Admittedly, the attendence of young vehicles users may have negative implications on people's safety. The major concern is that young minds tend to get involved in reckless driving behaviors namely speeding, drunk driving, disobeying traffic regulations. These inappropriate acts while driving, however, can be mitigated by either early trainings or educations to raise drivers' awareness of other people's well-being.

In sum, I mostly object to the raise of minimum age of drivers. Even though the application would reduce tragic outcomes young drivers have on the society, it causes problems for people's daily lives as well as wastes the manpower.