Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic of road safety has been grabbing a great deal of publicity. It is widely believed that the best way to diminish traffic threats is to elevate the age at which a person can legally drive a motorcycle or car. While I agree that age has a significant impact on traffic participation, I perceive that other factors are also critical.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people believe that increasing the minimum driving age would decrease deaths and injuries. Adolescents tend to violate the law and cause accidents due to their lack of maturity, responsibility, and experience. It is evident that older drivers react with greater speed than younger ones to risky and unexpected circumstances while driving. For instance, if a child or a pet suddenly cross the road, younger drivers might be frightened and panic, whereas the experienced ones would consistently use their brake.

On the other hand, I am convinced that there are numerous alternative ways to reduce traffic offenses. Firstly, the government should spend more money enhancing transportation infrastructure in order to improve driving conditions. Nevertheless, authorities should encourage people to take public transportation rather than private vehicles to reduce the volume of traffic. Finally, for those who violate traffic laws, harsh punishments must be enforced, hence drivers are likely to obey the law.

In conclusion, while there are justifications that raising the driving age certainly affects the number of traffic accidents, I would contend that there are plenty of ways to achieve better outcomes.