Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that raising the lowest legal age for car drivers and motorcyclists is the best way for improvement of traffic safety. While I think age limit adjustments for road users would be beneficial for road safety, I hold a strong belief that other alternatives could also bring numerous significant advantages.

On the one hand, a higher minimum age for drivers and motorists could help to strengthen road safety due to several reasons. First, these people are generally expected to be old enough to meet physical requirements to control the vehicles safely. To be more specific, riders are supposed to be tall and strong enough to balance and handle such big speedy motorbikes, unless they want to encounter dangerous uncontrolled situations. Furthermore, this solution might generate such a significant decline in the number of people controlling transportations because people under a driving age limit would tend to use public transports or be carried by the older.

On the other hand, I believe that there are a variety of more effective options for traffic safety. The first choice could be that governments should allocate funds for traffic infrastructure such as building more roads and widening traffic areas. As a result, vehicles on the roads would become more accessible, the fact helps to reduce traffic congestion and improve traffic flow. Another useful measure might be strict punishments for lawbreakers in traffic. The pressure of paying a fine or even being in jail appears to make road users think twice and take into account any traffic violations. For example, the number of accident cases in Vietnam has decreased significantly because of a considerable amount of fine paid for not wearing helmets when being in traffic.

In conclusion, although increasing driving and riding age limit seems to be advantageous, I believe that there exist other options that could have more substantial merits.