Some people think that the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

After the industrial revolution, people seem to advocate paying a salary that accounts for the employee’s productivity and ability to sell products as an incentive to promote their labor efficiency. However, I personally disagree with this pointview because I believe that social development and ethical values cannot be measured by qualities of work.

Although salaries based on the abilities to produce and sell are likely to increase the possibility of yield and limite lazybones cheating in their work, there are various kinds of professionals requiring more specially moral qualities, particularly such as pedagogy, physicals, sevice. For example, if a lecturer attempts to teach lessons or classes as much as possible to earn more money instead of focusing on how much knowledge their students get, education will soon be ruined. Or if a salesman tends to chase the number and forget their customers after some successful contracts, their guests will no longer be interested in their products and service, leading to decline in their company’s profits. Obviously, payment for those occupations cannot be based on how much the employees are able to make or gain.

Furthermore, there is no denying that social progress will be associated with worthy cores such as civilization, specialization, and creativity rather than chasing the races of boring numbers in work. The socio-economic development needs breakthroughs and dedication of each individual, but if they are paid a small amount of income enough to tightly afford for their life, who can be willing to devote their life for those? It is widely known that it will take many years for an innovation or invention that can change the world to appear. Geniuses or scientists may have difficulty surviving and conducting their trials or experiments without grants when no one wants to pay for the future and only concentrate on what they could do at the present. Thus, this phenomena will cause damaging effects both on motivation of inventors and development in later life.

In conclusion, I do not totally support that people should pay for employees related to what they could do. The employers should take care not only about qualities but also promises in the future and required qualities of each job.